What does OWI per se mean?
“Per se,” is a Latin phrase that means “by itself.” In other words, having a 0.08 BAC by itself means that you are guilty of driving while intoxicated without regard to any other evidence.
What happens when you get a second DUI in Indiana?
A second DUI arrest can be charged as either a felony or a misdemeanor in Indiana. Level 6 Felony – Filed when the previous DUI was within the last five years. This can result in up to two and a half years in prison. Level 5 Felony – Filed when the first or second DUI resulted in serious bodily harm or death.
How long does an OWI stay on your record in Indiana?
In Indiana, an OWI conviction will stay on your record and count as a prior forever. However, an OWI becomes a felony (as opposed to a misdemeanor) if the offender has priors within the past five years.
What is the charge for OWI in Indiana?
IN OWI Penalties. The penalty upon conviction of a first OWI offense in Indiana: Fines: up to $500 fine [up to $5,000 if BAC 0.15% or above] Jail: 30 to 60 days in jail [up to 1 year if BAC 0.15% or above]
What is considered reckless operation by Indiana law?
Indiana law prohibits reckless operation of a vessel or the reckless manipulation of water-skis, an aquaplane, or any similar device. Reckless Operation or manipulation is operating a vessel carelessly in willful disregard of the rights, safety, or property of others. Examples of illegal and reckless operation include:
What are the driving laws in Indiana?
Once the permit has been issued, Indiana requires holders to complete a minimum of 50 hours of supervised driving practice, ten hours of night driving, with a licensed instructor or a licensed driver who is at least 25 years old or a spouse who is at least 21.
What are the penalties for public intoxication in Indiana?
Indiana makes it unlawful to be intoxicated (by drugs or alcohol) in a public place if you are: harassing, annoying, or alarming other people. (Ind. Code § 7.1-5-1-3 (2020).) Public intoxication carries a class B misdemeanor penalty in Indiana, punishable by up to 180 days in jail and a $1,000 fine.
What is reckless driving under Indiana law?
Under Indiana law, a driver commits reckless driving by doing any one of the following things: Drives at such an unreasonably high or low rate of speed that he endangers the safety or property of others or blocks the proper flow of traffic.