Where is Uganda located on the world map?

Where is Uganda located on the world map?

Where is Uganda? Outline Map. Key Facts. Flag. Located on the edge of the Equator, Uganda is positioned in south-central Africa, and bordered by the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), Kenya, Rwanda, Sudan and Tanzania. Uganda averages about 1,100 metres (3,609 ft) above sea level, and while much of its border is lakeshore,

How many kilometers of roads are there in Uganda?

Transport in Uganda refers to the transportation structure in Uganda. The country has an extensive network of paved and unpaved roads. Contents. Roadways. As of 2017, according to the Uganda Ministry of Works and Transport, Uganda had about 130,000 kilometres (80,778 mi) of roads, with approximately 5,300 kilometres (3,293 mi) (4 percent) paved.

What are the names of the airports in Uganda?

As of June 2018, according to the CIA Factbook, Uganda had 47 airports, five of which had paved runways, namely Entebbe Airport, Gulu Airport, Soroti Airport, Nakasongola Airport and Jinja Airport . ^ a bMinistry of Works & Transport (2017).

What are the names of the rivers in Uganda?

Uganda has eight major rivers, the Victoria Nile, Achwa, Okok, Pager, Albert Nile, Kafu, Mpongo, and Katonga. The country’s southern rivers drain into Lake Victoria.

Where are lakes George and Edward in Uganda?

Lakes George and Edward lie between the Virunga and Ruwenzori mountains. Lakes Albert is located in the Western Rift Valley and the Albert Nile River also starts its course in this region.

What kind of mountains are found in Uganda?

Most of Uganda is covered by a plateau that gradually drops in elevation northwards. The edges of this massive plateau are marked by mountain ranges and valleys. The western boundaries of the country are formed by Virunga and Ruwenzori Mountains, and the Western Rift Valley.

What are the four major regions of Uganda?

Uganda has four major administrative divisions called regions. These are Central, Western, Eastern, and Northern. These regions are further sub-divided into 15 sub-regions which are constituted by 121 districts. The districts are further broken down into smaller administrative units.