What are the 8 categories of birds?

What are the 8 categories of birds?

Passeriformes – passerines/perching birds.

  • Superorder Galloanserae.
  • Order Galliformes—Landfowl.
  • Order Anseriformes –Waterfowl.
  • Order Charadriiformes—Shorebirds and Waders.
  • Order Sphenisciformes–Penguins.
  • Order Falconiformes-Diurnal Raptors.
  • Order Strigiformes–Owls (Nocturnal Raptors)

What are the 7 bird classifications?

How Bird Classification Works

  • Kingdom: Animalia (this includes all animals on earth)
  • Phylum: Chordata (this includes all animals on earth which have a spinal chord)
  • Subphylum: Vertebrata (this includes all animals which have a true backbone)
  • Class: Aves (this includes all living and extinct birds)
  • Order.
  • Family.

How many categories of birds are there?

Birds are traditionally thought of as a well-studied group, with more than 95 percent of their global species diversity estimated to have been described. Most checklists used by bird watchers as well as by scientists say that there are roughly between 9,000 and 10,000 species of birds.

What are the three classifications of birds?

Annotated classification

  • Order Passeriformes (songbirds, or perching birds)
  • Order Apodiformes (swifts, hummingbirds)
  • Order Piciformes (woodpeckers and allies)
  • Order Charadriiformes (gulls, sandpipers, auks, and allies)
  • Order Pteroclidiformes (sandgrouse)

What are the different types of birds?

Types of Birds. There are about 10,000 species of birds. The types of birds (orders) are: Anseriformes (ducks, geese, screamers, swans, and waterfowl) Apodiformes (hummingbirds and swifts ) Caprimulgiformes (nightbirds) Charadriiformes (shorebirds and relatives) Ciconiiformes (storks, herons , egrets, ibises, spoonbills, and relatives)

What are the names of small birds?

The American goldfinch, the pine sisken, the Eastern phoebe, the Eastern kingbird and the Eastern wood pewee are all little birds. The flycatchers are another bunch of small songbirds, among them the least flycatcher , the olive-sided flycatcher and the willow flycatcher .

What type of birds are prey?

Birds of Prey include; the condor, eagles, falcons, harrier, hawks, osprey, shrikes, vultures and more.

What is scientific classification are birds?

The general scientific classification of birds is as follows: Kingdom: Animalia. Subkingdom: Eumetazoa. Phylum: Chordata. Subphylum: Vertebrata. Superclass: Tetrapoda. Class: Aves . Birds are generally identified by their feathers.