What is considered a below-the-hook lifting device?

What is considered a below-the-hook lifting device?

Below-the-hook (BTH) lifting devices are important attachments that facilitate the efficient and safe transportation of various types of loads. They include coil hooks, coil grabs, mechanical lifters, spreader bars, and magnet lifts used in conjunction with cranes and hoists.

What ANSI standard covers below-the-hook lifting devices?

Standard Number: 20-Below-the-Hook Lifting Devices. With regard to whether OSHA recognizes ANSI/ASME B30.

What is safety factor in crane lifting?

Safe Working Load (SWL) sometimes stated as the Normal Working Load (NWL) is the maximum safe force that a piece of lifting equipment, lifting device or accessory can exert to lift, suspend, or lower, a given mass without fear of breaking. The WLL is calculated by dividing MBL by a safety factor (SF).

What is ASME B30?

ASME B30 is identified as the “Safety Standard for Cableways, Cranes, Derricks, Hoists, Hooks, Jacks, and Slings.” Every couple of years, the B30 Committee reviews, revises, and amends their existing standards and releases a new edition.

Which is the correct factor for a below the hook lifting device?

This qualifies as a below-the-hook lifting device and should follow the design recommendations in ASME BTH-1 Design of Below-the-Hook Lifting Devices. This document gives guidance on selecting the appropriate safety factor or design factor as it is referred to in BTH-1. the load rating of the lifter. The load rating should not ing the test.

Which is the ASME standard for below the hook lifting?

ASME BTH-1 “Design of Below-the-Hook Lifting Devices” is an ASME design standard and is to be used in conjunction with ASME B30.20, the ASME safety standard for Below-the-Hook Lifting Devices.

What makes my below the hook lifting device OSHA compliant?

This is the most common design category with most below-the-hook lifting devices falling under Design Category B. These lifters can fall under service class 0-4 and require a design factor of 3:1. The Service Class of a lifter is based on the load cycles that a lifter will see in a 24-hour period.

Which is the best safety factor for lifting?

The factor of safety / Safety factor No. Lifting Item Factor of Safety 1. Mild Steel Hook 5 2. High Tensile Steel Hook 5 3. Wire Rope Sling 6 4. Endless Wire Rope Sling 8