Which party controlled the Senate in 2013?

Which party controlled the Senate in 2013?

113th United States Congress
Senate Majority Democratic
Senate President Joe Biden (D)
House Majority Republican
House Speaker John Boehner (R)

Who is the current majority leader of the House?

Majority Leaders of the House (1899 to present)

Congress and Years Name Party
114th (2015–2017) MCCARTHY, Kevin Republican
115th (2017–2019) MCCARTHY, Kevin Republican
116th (2019–2021) HOYER, Steny Hamilton Democrat
117th (2021–2023) HOYER, Steny Hamilton Democrat

Who was majority leader before McConnell?

List of party leaders

Congress Dates Republican leader
107th November 23, 2002 – January 3, 2003 Trent Lott
108th January 3, 2003 – January 3, 2005 Bill Frist
109th January 3, 2005 – January 3, 2007
110th January 3, 2007 – December 18, 2007 Mitch McConnell

Who has the Senate majority in 2012?

2012 United States Senate elections

Leader Harry Reid Mitch McConnell
Party Democratic Republican
Leader’s seat Nevada Kentucky
Seats before 51 47
Seats after 53 45

Who was the majority Leader of the House in 2014?

13 Elected Majority Leader on June 19, 2014, and assumed office on July 31, 2014, to fill the vacancy caused by the resignation of Majority Leader Eric Cantor.

How often are majority and minority leaders chosen?

The House of Representatives, with its large membership, has chosen majority and minority leaders since the 19th century to expedite legislative business and to keep their parties united. These leaders are elected every two years in secret balloting of the party caucus or conference.

Who are the majority and minority leaders of the Senate?

The first floor leaders were formally designated in 1920 (Democrats) and 1925 (Republicans). The Senate Republican and Democratic floor leaders are elected by the members of their party in the Senate at the beginning of each Congress. Depending on which party is in power, one serves as majority leader and the other as minority leader.

Who was the Minority Leader of the House in 1973?

3 Resigned from the House of Representatives on December 6, 1973, after having been confirmed by the Senate to become Vice President to fill the vacancy caused by the resignation of Vice President Spiro Agnew. 4 Elected Minority Leader on December 7, 1973, to fill the vacancy caused by the resignation of Gerald Ford.