What are the S levels in Paralympics?

What are the S levels in Paralympics?

The prefix for each class identifies the stroke;

  • S. denotes the class for freestyle, backstroke and butterfly.
  • SB. denotes the class for breaststroke.
  • SM. denotes the class for individual medley.

What are the different categories in Paralympic swimming?

World Para Swimming caters for three impairment groups – physical, intellectual and vision. The sport class names in swimming consist of a prefix “S” or “SB” and a number. The prefixes stand for the strokes and the number indicates the sport classes.

What are the 8 classifications for Paralympic sports?

Categories of disability

  • Amputee athletes.
  • Cerebral Palsy athletes.
  • Vision impaired athletes.
  • Wheelchair athletes.
  • Les Autres (“the others”)
  • Intellectual impairment.

What is C5 in Paralympics?

Sport class C1 is allocated to athletes with the most severe activity limitation, while the sport class C5 is allocated to athletes with minimum impairments.

What do the different classes in Paralympics mean?

Swimmers with physical disabilities are divided into ten classes based on their degree of functional disability: S1, S2, S3, S4, S5, S6, S7, S8, S9 and S10. The lower number indicates a greater degree of impairment. Those with visual impairments are placed in three additional classes: S11, S12 and S13.

What is S12 swimming?

S11, S12 and S13 are for swimmers with visual impairments. S1 through to S10 are for competitors with physical disabilities. The classes rank highest to lowest in terms of level of disability, so S1 is for the most severely disabled swimmers, while S10 is for those with the mildest form of disability.

What does S10 stand for in Paralympics?

S10 is for swimmers with movement affect at a low level in the legs, moderately in the hip joint or feet, to a high degree in one foot, or minor limb absence. These swimmers have to correct minor instability within their stroke pattern.

What does C5 mean in Paralympics?

Sport class C1 is allocated to athletes with the most severe activity limitation, while the sport class C5 is allocated to athletes who meet the minimum impairment criteria.

What does C4 mean Paralympics?

C4 is a para-cycling classification. It includes people with lower limb impairments or issues with lower limb functionality. Disability groups covered by this classification include people with cerebral palsy, amputations and other lower limb impairments.

What does S10 stand for in swimming category?

S10 (classification) S10, SB9, SM10 are disability swimming classifications used for categorizing swimmers based on their level of disability. Swimmers in this class tend to have minimal weakness affecting their legs, missing feet, a missing leg below the knee or problems with their hips.

Who are the S10 swimmers in the Paralympics?

See also: Category:S10-classified Paralympic swimmers Swimmers who have competed in this classification include Robert Welbourn, Michael Anderson, Andre Brasil and Anna Eames who all won medals in their class at the 2008 Paralympics.

What does S10 stand for in Paralympic category?

S10 (classification) This class includes a number of different disabilities including people with amputations and cerebral palsy. The classification is governed by the International Paralympic Committee, and competes at the Paralympic Games.

What was the final classification for swimming in the Paralympics?

Swimmers may not use any assistive technology while competing. A final class, S15, is for athletes with hearing loss. Swimming was one of the eight sports contested in the first Paralympics, the 1960 Summer Paralympics in Rome.