What are foundation subjects in the National Curriculum?

What are foundation subjects in the National Curriculum?

What does Foundation Subject mean? The National Curriculum states that foundation subjects are: Art and Design, Citizenship, Computing and IT, Design and Technology, Languages, Geography, History, Music and P.E. They differ to the core subjects of: English, Maths, Science and R.E which are explored in further detail.

Is there a National Curriculum in the UK?

The National Curriculum for England was first introduced by the Education Reform Act of 1988. The National Curriculum is a set of subjects and standards used by primary and secondary schools so children learn the same things. It covers what subjects are taught and the standards children should reach in each subject.

How many foundation subjects are there in the National Curriculum?

It is organised on the basis of 4 key stages*** and 12 subjects, classified in legal terms as ‘core’ and ‘other foundation’ subjects.

What are the National Curriculum levels?

So, what are National Curriculum levels? They’re a set of eight bands, set by the Government, used to measure a child’s progress against other pupils of the same age, across the country. The levels applied to children in KS1, KS2 and KS3.

Which is part of the National Curriculum in England?

1. Introduction 4 2. The school curriculum in England 5 3. The national curriculum in England 6 4. Inclusion 8 5. Numeracy and mathematics 9 6. Language and literacy 10 7. Programmes of study and attainment targets 12 English 13 Spoken language – years 1 to 6 17 Key stage 1 – year 1 19 Key stage 1 – year 2 26 Lower key stage 2 – years 3 and 4 33

Is the National Curriculum required for years 3 to 6?

The legal requirement is to cover the content of the programmes of study for years 3 to 6 by the end of key stage 2. 3. The national curriculum in England 7 3.5 The structure of the national curriculum, in terms of which subjects are compulsory at each key stage, is set out in the table below:

When does the UK Foundation Programme curriculum change?

The Foundation Programme curriculum is being updated for August 2021 and we asked our UK Patient Representatives their opinions in an anonymous survey during April and May 2020. The survey is now closed but if you would like to find out more about the changes please see the information below.

What is the curriculum for Science in England?

Science 168 Key stage 1 170 Key stage 1 programme of study – years 1 and 2 171 Year 1 programme of study 172 Year 2 programme of study 175 Lower key stage 2 – years 3 and 4 178 Lower key stage 2 programme of study 179 Year 3 programme of study 181 Year 4 programme of study 185 Upper key stage 2 – years 5 and 6 189