How many counties are there in South Carolina?

How many counties are there in South Carolina?

46 counties
There are 46 counties in South Carolina ranging in population from 8,039 (Allendale County) to 525,534 (Greenville County). Counties operate under four forms of government: council (six counties); council-supervisor (four counties); council-administrator (34 counties); and council-manager (two counties).

What is the nicest town in South Carolina?

Where Is The Best Place To Live In South Carolina?

  • Mount Pleasant. Population: 91,684.
  • Columbia. Population: 131,674.
  • Tega Cay. Population: 11,335.
  • Fort Mill. Population: 22,284.
  • Rock Hill. Population: 75,048.
  • Clemson. Population: 17,501.
  • Lexington. Population: 22,157.
  • Myrtle Beach. Population: 34,695. Median Household Income: $40,525.

What is the richest county in SC?

South Carolina Counties Ranked by Per Capita Income

Rank County Per capita income
1 Beaufort $32,731
2 Charleston $29,401
United States $27,334
3 Lexington $26,393

What is the poorest county in South Carolina?

Oglala Lakota County, contained entirely within the boundaries of the Pine Ridge Reservation , has the lowest per capita income ($8,768) in the country, and ranks as the “poorest” county in the nation.

What are the names of the cities in South Carolina?

Its capital city is Columbia and the largest city is Charleston. The population of the state is about 4.2 million people, ranked 24th in the United States. South Carolina’s 32,030 square miles make it the 40th largest state. Other important cities in South Carolina are Columbia, Greenville, Spartanburg, Anderson, Sumter, and Florence.

What is largest county in South Carolina in population?

Charleston County is the largest when including land and water at 1,358 square miles (3,517 square kilometers). The smallest, Calhoun County , comes in at 359 square miles (578 square kilometers). As of 2019, the largest county by population is Greenville County , with a population of 514,213. Allendale County has the smallest population at 8,903.

How many counties in South Carolina?

There are 46 counties in South Carolina. All counties are functioning governmental units, each governed by a county council. There are 299 county subdivisions in South Carolina.